Home Link Site Map Link
City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown
City Hall Link Visiting Charlottetown Link Living in Charlottetown Link Doing Business Link Contact Us Link How Do I? Link

News List

2017-06-09 - Charlottetown Citizens and Staff Recognized by Mayor and Council

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

Four outstanding citizens were recognized recently by the City of Charlottetown at the annual Mayor’s Citizen Recognition Awards.

"These awards recognize some of the finest individuals in our community; people who have dedicated their time to improving the lives of others," said Charlottetown Mayor Clifford Lee. "When we honour people at this ceremony, it is because they have earned the respect of their peers, are an inspiration to others, and we want to thank them for all that they’ve done and continue to do to make Charlottetown a great place to live, work and play."

The 2017 Citizen Recognition Awards were presented to:

  • Chris Annett – for dedicating 12 years as a volunteer coach at Colonel Gray, serving as former President of the Canadian School Sports Federation, PEI School Sport Federation, and PEI Basketball Association, and volunteering with many other committees and teams.
  • Cecil Villard – for working tirelessly for Special Olympics at the provincial and national level, serving as President of the Special Olympics PEI board, member of the Special Olympic Canada board, and taking a lead role on national issues with a willingness to contribute to numerous committees and working groups.
  • Annie Boyle – for the time spent fundraising for many causes and charities, such as the Kidney Foundation of Canada, Arthritis Society, Canadian Cancer Society, and Canadian Diabetes Association. She has also been a member of the Ladies Orange Benevolent Association for 58 years, a group that provides assistance to people with serious illnesses.
  • The Honourable H. Frank Lewis – for his unending support of the community and setting a new standard for the vice-regal office in terms of the number of events, ceremonies and celebrations attended or hosted. Before being sworn in as The Lieutenant Governor of PEI, he served the business community for 60 years as an entrepreneur, executive, volunteer and mentor.

The 20th Annual David Eli MacEachern Scholarship was presented to Matt Connolly and Alison Muise. Some of the criteria for the scholarship includes: dedication to excellence in sports; demonstrating good sportsmanship; a passion for learning and excellence; and continuing education in a field of study that relates to sports.

The scholarship and the Citizen Recognition Awards were handed out at a special ceremony held on Thursday, June 8, along with the recognition of long-serving employees of the City of Charlottetown. The 2017 honourees are as follows:

20 Years of Service
Wayne Long
Lee MacLeod
Scott Macdonald

25 Years of Service
Randy Perry
Linda Gallant

30 Years of Service
Roland Ford

35 Years of Service
Randy MacDonald

45 Years of Service
Helen McGuigan

Donna Hurry, Administration
Sharon MacKinnon, Planning 
Sergeant Shane Carr, Police Services
Claire MacDonald, Police Services
Corporal David MacFarlane, Police Services
Larmon Donovan, Public Works
Lee MacLeod, Water and Sewer Utility
Dianne Smallwood, Water and Sewer Utility

The Mayor’s Citizen Recognition Awards are part of the City of Charlottetown’s annual Natal Day Weekend Celebrations. For more information on the events, visit: www.charlottetown.ca or join the event page on Facebook by visiting www.facebook.com/CityofCharlottetown


Submitted photos (additional photos available upon request).

PB7_9058: Annie Boyle receives her Citizen Recognition Award from Charlottetown Mayor Clifford Lee. (Patricia Bourque Photo).

Alison Muise: Charlottetown Rural student Alison Muise receives the 20th Annual David Eli MacEachern Scholarship from the Honourable H. Frank Lewis, Lieutenant Governor of PEI, and Charlottetown Mayor Clifford Lee. (Patricia Bourque Photo).

Media contact:

Jennifer Gavin
Communications Officer
City of Charlottetown

Thursday, Feb 22, 2018
Download Adobe Reader Free Link

Home • News