Home Link Site Map Link
City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown City of Charlottetown
City Hall Link Visiting Charlottetown Link Living in Charlottetown Link Doing Business Link Contact Us Link How Do I? Link

Archives List

2014-06-17 - Charlottetown Citizens Recognized by Mayor and Council

Click to enlarge

The City of Charlottetown’s annual Mayor’s Citizen Recognition Awards honoured eight individuals recently who have made outstanding contributions to the community.

"There are many individuals, groups and organizations whose service goes beyond what is expected of them each and every day in this great city. The purpose of these awards is to take the time to say thank you to those people for making our city a better place to live," said Charlottetown Mayor Clifford Lee. "The people we have recognized this year, as in past years, stand out in our community. They strive to meet the needs of others, and we want them to know that they have earned great admiration and respect from their fellow citizens, families and friends and those of us at City Hall."

The Citizen Recognition Awards were presented to:

• Brenda Beaton for 13 years of service in various roles with the Charlottetown Ringette Association, followed by 12 years with the provincial association. Among other community contributions, Brenda Beaton has also been involved with the Canada Winter and Summer Games, Sport PEI board, and the Queen Elizabeth Hospital auxiliary;

• Catherine Ronahan for her life-long commitment to social justice. Some of her community involvement includes: the Latin American Mission Program, the PEI Association for Newcomers, Friends of Mohamed, and the Women’s Network of PEI;

• Diane Smith for her volunteer work at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, PEI Ground Search and Rescue, the Charlottetown Branch of the Women’s Institute, the Breakfast Program at Sherwood School and much more.

• Guy Boswell for his dedication to – and fundraising efforts for – community sports. He is heavily involved in the Winsloe West Royalty Soccer Club and has been actively involved in coaching both premier and first division teams at the soccer club;

• Kenneth Murnaghan for being a strong advocate for brain injury prevention and education programs and services for those living with a brain injury. He is currently in his sixth term as President of the Brain Injury Association of PEI;

• Robbie Larter for being involved in a number of organizations and events including: the Brookvale Ski Patrol, the 2012 National Hockey Day in Canada, the 2012 Canadian Wheelchair basketball finals, the 2013 Canada Summer Games, and the Belvedere Golf and Country Club – to name a few;

• Valerie Downe for her involvement with Special Olympics PEI, Home and School Associations, the YMCA, ECMA’s and the Transition House Association. She has also served on many civic and business boards.

The 17th Annual David Eli MacEachern Scholarship was presented to Dominique Ryan, a 2014 graduating student from Charlottetown Rural High school. Some of the criteria for the scholarship includes: dedication to excellence in sports; demonstrating good sportsmanship; and a passion for learning, excellence and continuing education.  Dominique Ryan plans to play competitively at Holland College this fall as a dual athlete (baseball and volleyball). He has enrolled in the business program at the college.

The awards were handed out at a special ceremony held on June 12.


Photo cutline: Charlottetown Mayor Clifford Lee presents the 2014 David Eli MacEachern Scholarship to Charlottetown Rural High School student, Dominique Ryan, at the Mayor’s Citizens Recognition Awards ceremony held on June 12. (Photo by Patricia Bourque)


Media contact:

Jennifer Gavin
Communications Officer
City of Charlottetown

Thursday, Feb 22, 2018
City Hall
Download Adobe Reader Free Link

HomeCity Hall • News/E-Newsletter & Notices Archives